The former Kingdom, These are 5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Tunisia

The former Kingdom, These are 5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Tunisia

Tunisia is a country located in northern Africa, which is directly adjacent to the Mediterranean Sea. Tunisia has a lot of historical buildings, ranging from relics of the Roman empire to there are also relics of the Islamic caliphate.

The historic building is not only an icon for the country of Tunisia but has also entered a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Here are five UNESCO world heritage sites in Tunisia that must be visited.

  1. El Jem Amphitheater

The amphitheater, located in the city of El Djem, is a historic amphitheater of Roman heritage. This place was built around 238 AD and became the third largest amphitheater founded by the Romans. The amphitheater is estimated to be able to accommodate about 35,000 people.

Formerly this amphitheater served as a venue for sports, bloody gladiator fights, and other fights. After 4 centuries of existence, this amphitheater was converted into a fortress as a place of refuge for Queen Kahina against the Arabs.

  1. Carthage Site

Carthage or commonly called Qart Hadasht is an ancient city of the Phoenicians that was built during the reign of Queen Dido around the 9th century BC. The center of Carthage is located on the northern coast of Africa on the Gulf of Tunis.

This city bears witness to the history of the greatest war in ancient times. The war was called the Punic War, which involved the Romans and Carthage. This war took place from 264 BC to 146 BC and lasted for three periods.

Read also: Large arrests, hundreds of Tunisians protest

  1. Kairouan City

The city of Kairouan is the oldest heritage city of the Islamic Caliphate in Tunisia. The city was founded by Uqbah bin Nafi’, in the year 670 AD. The Great Mosque, formerly known as the Uqba Mosque, became the main icon in Cairoan City.

The city of Kairouan stood under the rule of various dynasties, from the Umayyad dynasty, and the Abbasid dynasty to the Aghlabiyah dynasty. Kairouan City became the most advanced city and became the center of government during the Aghlabiyah Dynasty.

  1. Dougga Site

The Dougga site is a settlement left by the Romans and the Berbers, who were the indigenous peoples of North Africa. The Dougga site is located in the Northern Tunisia region, precisely in the city of Teboursouk.

The Dougga site is thought to have been built around the 5th century BC. There are several main buildings on this site, among them, the Roman theater, temples, baths, and statues. The Dougga site was added to a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997.

  1. Kerkouane Site

Kerkouane is a small town left by the western Phoenicians, located in the east of the Tunisia Sea. The Kerkouane Site was discovered in 1952 and made a UNESCO Cultural Heritage Site in 1985.

The Kerkouane site is thought to have been built in the 6th century BC. This site was abandoned by its inhabitants during the Punic Wars and was never repopulated.

These five sites can be your alternative vacation to get to know various historical relics from the ancient kingdom of Tunisia. From the list of sites, which one would you like to visit?